For COVID-19 information including the phased reopening plan for the city, local resources, closures, and other related information visit our COVID-19 webpage.

Form of Governance

Chartered in 1925 as a Municipality by the state of Texas, Lewisville uses a Council/Manager form of government whose mission is to meet its residents' needs with the highest quality of service.

The Mayor/City Council, a 6-member body elected by the people of the City of Lewisville, sets laws and regulations governing the City of Lewisville. Only five members vote. The Mayor votes only in the case of a tie vote among Council members. The Council meets on the first and the third Monday of each month in public meetings to debate and set local legislation (due to holidays, meeting schedules differ in January, July and September).

Council members are elected at large (citywide) for three year terms. Council members are governed by the City Charter which can be found at  Under the Council/Manager form of government, the City Council supervises the City Manager, the City Attorney, the City Secretary and the City Judges. The City Council is responsible for developing policy and the City Manager responsible for implementing those policies. The City Manager supervises all other city employees. The Manager’s Office is located inside City Hall at 151 West Church Street in Lewisville and is open from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and 7:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. on Friday's, excluding holidays. The City Manager’s Office phone number is 972.219.3405.

The City of Lewisville is independent from the Lewisville Independent School District and other government agencies including Denton and Dallas County and State of Texas and Federal Agencies.

To contact the Mayor and City Council, please contact the City Secretary’s Office located at 151 West Church Street in Lewisville at City Hall between 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Monday through Thursday, and 7:30 a.m. to 11:30 on Friday's, excluding holidays. The phone number for the City Secretary’s Office is 972.219.3411.